FAQ / Payment


What type of payments do you accept?

Our regular paid plans accept only credit card payments (Visa, MasterCard and American Express). On our custom plans we accept payments via credit card, wire transfer, check or PayPal.

See also: Pricing

How does the 30-day free trial work?

When signing up to a paid plan, you get a free trial of the plan for 30 days. This offer is available only for the first time you sign up for Contentful. You do not need a credit card for testing Contentful – you'll be asked for your card details only after the trial is over. If you do so, you’ll stay on the paid plan. If you don’t provide billing information, you will automatically be downgraded to our free plan.

See also: Pricing

What happens when my trial ends?

One week before your trial period ends you will be notified about it by email. The moment you're being downgraded you will be asked to provide payment information (a credit card and a billing address). If you choose not to do so, you will be downgraded to our free plan.

If you are on a Pro plan trial and used features unavailable in the Starter plan (e.g. locales), your content will all be kept safe but might not be accessible until you upgrade.

What happens when I upgrade or downgrade?

We will prorate charges when you upgrade or downgrade your subscription plan. If you have features enabled that do not exist in a lower plan, you won't be able to downgrade until you disable them.

For instance, if you have localized content, you won't be able to downgrade from the Pro to the Plus plan, until you delete the locales.

Please note that it is not possible to switch from an annual to a monthly plan before the end of your subscription term.

How to I upgrade or downgrade my subcription plan?

You can easily upgrade or downgrade your subscription plan by going to your Account Settings. Just note that you have to be the owner of the organization in order to have access to the billing information.

However, if you are on a paid plan, you can't downgrade to a free tier.

So, let's upgrade your account:

  1. First, click on your avatar and go to Organization & Billing.

  2. Click on Subscription.

  3. Finally, you will have a quick overview of your usage and will be able to choose the desired plan.

How many Organizations can I have?

There is virtually no limit to the organizations you can own or be a part of. However, one user can have no more than two organizations running on a free plan.

What happens when I reach the limit?

Different plans have different periodic and permanent limits. First of all it is important to understand the difference between these.

Periodic limits

Periodic limits are reset when a new billing period starts. This happens monthly, starting to count from the moment you first move into a new plan, regardless whether it's an upgrade or downgrade or the day of the month.

For instance, let's say you upgraded to a Pro plan on the 12th of May. Your billing period finishes 30 days from that day and when it does, your periodic limits will reset. Examples of these limits are Asset Bandwidth, CDN Requests or API Bandwidth.

Permanent limits

Permanent limits are limits that once reached, they won't reset unless you do something to revert them, even if a new billing period starts. For instance, if you reached the spaces limit, it won't reset next time you're charged for our service. Examples of these limits are number of users, spaces or entries.

What happens when I reach the limit?

In the case of the periodic limits you can choose either to wait until the period is over or upgrade your plan immediately. When you reach a permanent limit, however, you must upgrade your account to continue uploading content to Contentful.

How do I delete my account?

You can easily delete your account by following these three simple steps.

  1. Go to your Account Settings Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 09.16.14

  2. Click on Edit. Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 09.16.25

  3. Scroll down and click on Delete. Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 09.16.43

Just note that if you are the owner of the organization, all spaces and their content will be permanently deleted.

If on the other hand you are just looking to downgrade your subscription plan, you can take a look at our pricing table at the bottom of the page.

See also: Pricing