Community Event

RUG::B Meetup

The Ruby Usergroup Berlin is a usergroup, group of interest or just a bunch of people loving Ruby. Get in contact with us at our next meetup! Newbees are always welcome.
4 November 2021
19:00 CET / 2:00 PM EDT / 18:00 GMT / 11:00 AM PDT
Duration: 2 hours
Community Event
Digital
Remote

The Ruby Usergroup Berlin is a usergroup, group of interest or just a bunch of people loving Ruby. Get in contact with us at our next meetup! Newbees are always welcome.

About

You're welcome wherever you're from as long as you adhere to our Code of Conduct - the meetup is in English. Current schedule is two ~20min talks including Q&A, followed by splitting the audience into smaller groups for virtually hanging out (optional) :) Main Talk #1 - Scaling business logic by @titanoboa When we’re talking about scale, we mostly think about infrastructure - but our features become more advanced as well, requiring more elaborate business logic. Some design choices and basic principles can set us on track for keeping the codebase simple and the api easy to use. In this talk, you’re going to learn how an “API first” approach along with some basic design principles can help you to avoid the common pitfall of “active record obsession” and keep your business logic easily scalable. While we’re investigating a rails application, the underlying principles are somewhat framework- and language-agnostic. Main Talk #2 - The joy of slow programming by Adam Niedzielski I had a difficult relationship with side projects in the past. Basically I could never get anywhere with them. Thanks to a set of techniques that I called “slow programming” I started to develop side projects in a way that brings me joy. And this is the story that I’d like to share with you. PS: this talk may also be interesting to you if you're searching for an apartment in Berlin :)

Schedule

7:00 - Welcome & Intro 7:10- Talk #1 7:45 - Q&A 7:50 - Talk #2 8:35 - Q&A 8:40 - Virtual Hangout with Breakout Rooms (Optional)

This event has ended
add-circle arrow-right remove style-two-pin-marker subtract-circle