Community Event

RUG::B Meetup

The Ruby Usergroup Berlin is a usergroup, group of interest or just a bunch of people loving Ruby. Get in contact with us at our next meetup! Newbees are always welcome.
6 January 2022
19:00 CET / 10:00 AM PST / 1:00 PM EST / 18:00 GMT
Duration: 2 hours
Community Event
Digital
Remote

The Ruby Usergroup Berlin is a usergroup, group of interest or just a bunch of people loving Ruby. Get in contact with us at our next meetup! Newbees are always welcome.

About

You're welcome wherever you're from as long as you adhere to our Code of Conduct - the meetup is in English.

Current schedule is two ~20min talks including Q&A, followed by splitting the audience into smaller groups for virtually hanging out (optional) :) Main Talk #1 - Let's talk documentation by Florian Kraft

As Ruby developers, we have the good fortune of living in a world where "the code is the documentation", as well-written Ruby is very readable even to the layperson. However, since software and teams grow over time, knowledge can get lost and code can become cryptic. Let's have a look at the basic documentation tools at our disposal, the gaps and where we can borrow ideas from other eco systems and languages.

Main Talk #2 - My experience using Turbo Streams in production by Florin Lipan

We've been using Turbo Streams in production for more than 6 months now. I'd like to share my experience about this simple yet powerful framework that can be a solid alternative to JS-rich frameworks. I'll be talking about some of the things that weren't exactly straightforward, how you can scale it, and how to write tests.

Schedule

7:00 - Welcome & Intro

7:10- Talk #1

7:45 - Q&A

7:50 - Talk #2

8:35 - Q&A

8:40 - Virtual Hangout with Breakout Rooms (Optional)

This event has ended
add-circle arrow-right remove style-two-pin-marker subtract-circle