FAQ / Legacy spaces

On this page

Why are we upgrading legacy pricing plans for all users?

Although we launched new pricing plans in 2018, we never sunset the previous Contentful plans. Unfortunately that means a subset of customers are running an outdated, suboptimal version of Contentful. We want all customers to experience the full power of the content platform we’ve invested in over the last 3 years.

Will pricing for these plans change in the future?

We have no current plans to change prices, but Contentful continues to monitor pricing in context of market changes for all plans and pricing tiers. If we ever do announce pricing changes, we strive to give customers plenty of advance notice to plan their deployments accordingly.

IMPORTANT NOTE: While your plan will upgrade existing legacy spaces to current Contentful functionality, any additional spaces added must be purchased at our current space-based pricing.

Does the upgrade affect the creation of new spaces?

Going forward, legacy customers will not be able to add unlimited spaces. Environments functionality will support test and development use cases, and new spaces for production can be purchased at standard rates via the web app. 

How do we deal with legacy roles?

Legacy roles will be available to customers after the upgrade and won’t be removed automatically. If a customer wants to retire their legacy roles, they will have to go through the standard process of removing these roles from all users.

Does the upgrade affect spaces used in production or change organization or space IDs?

API keys, tokens, and space and organization IDs are not affected. Note that unless otherwise specified, API calls default to the master environment.

How will the limits (organization and space) for FREE accounts be affected by the upgrade?

Free legacy organizations will be transitioned to the current Community tier/plan.

Note that our fair use policy limits each account to a single active Community space (please see Space and user limits for Community customers).

After the transition, you’ll have 6 months to use your existing spaces however you like. After 6 months, all but one space will be converted to a read-only status. Live apps will continue to work, but you won’t be able to make updates to the content in those spaces unless you upgrade them in the web app. You will still be able to access spaces to export content.

The Community spaces will have the same limits as a normal Community space. The Community organizations will have the same limits as a normal Community organization. For more information, please refer to Technical limits.

We recognize that this is a significant change from our legacy plans. The good news is that Contentful has adopted a modern environment model as a replacement for development spaces, allowing you to create and maintain multiple versions of the space-specific data, and make changes to them in isolation.

How will the limits (organization and space) for Team accounts be affected by the upgrade?

Legacy self-service organizations will be transitioned to the current Team tier/plan. Legacy spaces will be upgraded to Medium or Large spaces based on usage. In the web app, these spaces will be labeled as “Legacy Medium” and “Legacy Large” so that we can distinguish them from normally sold Medium and Large spaces. Otherwise, the limits for these spaces will match the Medium and Large limits as indicated on the Technical limits page. If current usage exceeds limits, accounts won’t be able to go beyond them (i.e. rate limits, adding additional users, content types, etc.) - however, these spaces remain functional. Following the upgrade, new spaces can be purchased at standard rates via the web app.

Does this impact my overages limits (API calls, asset bandwidth, users)?

The latest Fair Use Policy will apply to the organization after the upgrade. Utility limits can be found here.

What happens if space usage exceeds space limits?

Spaces include a certain number of resources for each type based on the space size. The web app has details to let you compare your current usage towards what resources are included. Please go to “Organization settings & subscriptions” and scroll down to see “Your current usage”. 

If current usage exceeds limits, accounts won’t be able to go beyond them (i.e. rate limits, adding additional users, content types, etc.). However, spaces remain functional.

If your business needs a larger space to support your project, you can upgrade from within the web app or you can upgrade by contacting: support@contentful.com

Where can I find information on the new features I get with the upgrade?

The upgrade provides you with the following new features (click to view detailed information):

How do I export space content if I want to delete a space?

You can export and import your content in JSON using our CLI tool.

How can customers use the space environments feature to consolidate several legacy spaces that function as sandbox spaces into a single space with multiple environments?

If a customer is using multiple spaces as “sandbox spaces” of their production space, the space environments feature can be used instead to test changes before applying them to production. When making changes to any entity in any environment, including master, the data in all other environments isn’t affected and stays the same.

The first (recommended) option is to start sandbox environments as exact copies of the master environment. If needed, you can export content from obsolete spaces using the CLI tool and delete spaces. 

The second option is to export content from spaces directly to sandbox environments using the CLI tool.

If I delete a space, how is the invoice affected? Will the price decrease proportionally?

Yes, after the upgrade a new per-space price for each legacy space is calculated. If a space is deleted and removed from a customer’s plan, the monthly price will go down accordingly. Note that any additional spaces added to a plan will be at full listed price.

add-circle arrow-right remove style-two-pin-marker subtract-circle