Assigning a role to a user

Assigning a role to a new user in a space

Whenever a new user is added to a space, they are assigned with a role.

NOTE: Only a space Administrator can add users to space and assign them with roles.

To add a new user to a space and assign a space role to them:

  1. Go to the Settings tab and select Users.

    Space roles 301

  2. Click Add users.

    Space roles 302

  3. Search for the required user by either scrolling through the list or typing the user’s name in the Search field. NOTE: A user can only be added to a space if they are already added to the organization that hosts that space.

  4. Select the required user. NOTE: You can also select multiple users.

  5. Click Assign roles to selected users.

    Space roles 303

  6. Click on Select a space role and select a checkbox against a role that you would like to assign to the user.

  7. Click Add selected users. The user is added to a space and a space role is assigned.

    Space roles 304

Reassign a role to a user

You can assign a different role to an existing user in a space or assign an additional role to the user.

To reassign a space role to an existing user:

  1. Go to the Settings tab and select Users.

    Space roles 301

  2. Go to the required user.

  3. Click on the actions menu and select Change role.

    Space roles 305

  4. Optional: Deselect the role that is currently assigned to the user.

  5. Select the required role.

  6. Click Assign new role. Your user is now assigned with a different role.

    Space roles 306

Assigning multiple roles to a user

A user can be assigned with multiple space roles. Multiple roles can be assigned to a user individually or inherited from a team or teams the user is added to.

When multiple roles are assigned to a user, the user is granted with all permissions from all roles. If there are permissions that are conflicting, the Deny rule overrides the Allow rule by default.

NOTE: Learn more about Allow and Deny rules here.

If a user is assigned with the Administrator role, its permissions will override all other permissions from other roles, including Deny rules.

To better explain what a user is able to do when assigned with multiple roles, let's consider the following example:

Let's assume you have two space roles: "Translator Language 1" and "Translator Language 2". The former one can edit entries in Locale 1, while the latter one can edit entries in Locale 2. If you assign both roles to a single user, that user will be able to edit both Locale 1 and Locale 2. If you then assign that user with a 3rd role that denies access to Locale 1 and Locale 2, the user won't be able to edit those locales anymore. If afterwards you add the user to a team that is assigned with a space Administrator role, the user will become a space Administrator and will be able to perform any actions in the space.

Was this helpful?
add-circle arrow-right remove style-two-pin-marker subtract-circle