Assigning multiple roles to a user
A user can be assigned with multiple space roles. Multiple roles can be assigned to a user individually or inherited from a team or teams the user is added to.
When multiple roles are assigned to a user, the user is granted with all permissions from all roles. If there are permissions that are conflicting, the Deny rule overrides the Allow rule by default.
NOTE: Learn more about Allow and Deny rules here.
If a user is assigned with the Administrator role, its permissions will override all other permissions from other roles, including Deny rules.
To better explain what a user is able to do when assigned with multiple roles, let's consider the following example:
Let's assume you have two space roles: "Translator Language 1" and "Translator Language 2". The former one can edit entries in Locale 1, while the latter one can edit entries in Locale 2. If you assign both roles to a single user, that user will be able to edit both Locale 1 and Locale 2. If you then assign that user with a 3rd role that denies access to Locale 1 and Locale 2, the user won't be able to edit those locales anymore. If afterwards you add the user to a team that is assigned with a space Administrator role, the user will become a space Administrator and will be able to perform any actions in the space.
NOTE: To learn how to assign a role to a user, please refer to Assign a role to a user.
NOTE: To learn more about how environment permissions combine when multiple roles are assigned to a single user, please refer to Assigning multiple environment access options to a single user.